The Goofy Game of Golf Searching for the Answer

The weather continues to be ungolf like, but I was able to walk 9 holes yesterday under sunny skies and temps in the mid 40’s, but with enough of a breeze to make it feel in the 30’s. You can tell that Pittsburgher’s are getting itchy, because when I finished up, there was someone on every hole with a wait on the first tee at around 3:45pm. I ususally do not go into a round shot by shot because I find this somewhat boring, but it was interesting how this round evolved. The opening hole at Mt. Lebanon is a par 3, and with the wind crossing and the temp being what is was, I decided to hit a 5 iron where I wound normally it 7. Even though I thinned it a little bit, it was hit well enough to get to the front part of the green. I proceeded to 3 putt.On the next hole a difficutl par 4, I hit 2 mediocre shots, and a poor pitch and 2 putted from about 30 feet for bogey number 2. On the next hole a shorter easier par 4, I really butchered 2 shots and had a difficult little pitch to a short sided pin. I hit a pretty good shot, which I thought would turn out better than about 10 feet past the pin. By now, with the wind and the cold, my mood was quickly deteriorating very fast. Low and behold I made the 10 footer for par. The next hole a short par 5, I hit  2 good shots, and was only 30 yards short of the green. My pitch was poor but I managed to 2 putt for another par. The next 3 holes were routine pars, good drives, on the green, and 2 putts.  The eighth hole is solid par 4, that today was directly into the wind. I pull hooked my drive along the left tree line, but I was fortunate to have clear shot to the green, I hit a hybrid with just a little to much hook on it, just short and left of the green, which left me below the green to a short sided pin. I hit a beautiful pitch just on the front edge and stopped only 5 feet from the hole. I made the putt. The last hole is short par 4 which in the summer is drivable but not today. I hit a pretty good drive, but the wind pushed it a little left, where it hit some limbs and dropped further to the left. Again I had an opening and hit a 50 yard bump and run on the right side of the green, and 2 putted for the par. After the opening 2 bogeys, I then made 7 straight pars. What this all means, I am not too sure. Here is  food for thought. If I had not made that 10 foot par save, would  I have made the next 6 pars in a row. Or would that have  sent the round into a further tailspin and the bogey train would have continued for another 2 or three holes. Before I made that 10 footer, I was not thinking that this 9 holes was going to end up only 2 over par. I think we all have had this experience where a round does not start out all that well, but then we turn it around and shoot a fairly decent number.  The opposite will happen when we come out of the gates flying, only to come to a screeching hault by a string of bogeys, or a really bad hole. Since the weather is not going to get any better around here any time soon, I will have plenty of time to think about this one.  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Goofy Game of Golf Searching for the Answer

  1. I would suggest that you may be correct about the 10 foot putt. Quite frequently I find that one shot changes the nature of my round; for the good or bad. I wonder if this a mental challenge….

    Cheers
    Jim

Leave a Reply

