The Goofy Game of Golf Searching for the Answer

Now I am going to discuss the one thing I tried with my golf swing, that when I started doing this, I described as possibly real meat. I did this longer than the other things I described in the last blog. I ended up the last 5 rounds of 2010 and the first 9 rounds of 2011 trying this technique. Even though the golf swing is a fairly unique endeavor there are other sports that golf is compared. The first one that comes to mind is baseball. Hitting a baseball and even pitching with it’s wind up and follow through, is often compared to the backswing and downswing in golf. In both instances there is a shift of weight from a back foot to a forward foot. You could say the same thing in throwing a football, slapping a hockey puck and serving a tennis ball. In all of those examples anytime the weight is shifted from the back foot to the front foot the head moves with it. All except golf, where the head is held back, as you shift your weight to the forward foot. I thought why not try letting the head go forward the same amount as the forward shift of the hips that usually is the initiating start of the downswing. The hips slilde about 2 to 4 inches forward and then they start to turn, with everything else, the shoulders, arms and hands following. Traditional golf teaching says to keep your head back as the lower body is moving forward. This to me is a totally unnatural act,and I think is a big reason that people never really get off their right side. You are trying to get the lower part of your body to do one thing and your upper body to kind of hang back. I started letting my head come forward right along with my hips. The number one benefit of this move was that I really maintained my spine angle coming through the ball. The only thing I did to compensate for the move forward was to play the ball a little more forward in my stance, about 2 balls. When I first started to do this on the course the results were very good especially with the driver. Not only were my drives a little longer but the accuracy of my driver was amazing. However my iron play was rocky at best. I tried different ball positions and other things but the irons remained very inconsistant. Sometimes the transition got a little jerky and obviously as time when on the results were just not there and I stopped doing the moving the head forward with the swing. The only thing I will say about this technique it took a lot of strain off the back. I’m doing something right now, that seems to be working quite well, that is a little more traditional, but what I call the first true anchor of the golf swing. In other words to think of one thing that would control the entire golf swing.  Another end of season find that I have had to stew over all winter but play time is right around the corner so we will see what swing no. 312 brings. In the next 2 blogs I am going to talk about practice which seemed to stir a bit of interest. In the first blog I will tell why it is impossible to take your range swing to the golf course and then what’s the real purpose of practicing.           

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Goofy Game of Golf Searching for the Answer

  1. Pingback: Here's How To Improve Your Golf Swing Quickly… | Golf Exercise Secrets

  2. brianpenn says:

    Interested to get your in depth thoughts on practice. Also, of all the moves you’ve tried, how many to you concentrate on at once, i.e. how many swing thoughts can you work with? Some folks can work with multiples, but when I play my best, I’ve only got one. What’s your recommendation?

  3. I agree completely, one thought at the most and you mentioned Bob Rotella in your most recent blog about short game guru’s. He feels you should have no swing thoughts and just concentrate on the target. I admit I have never read Stan Utley’s books but I have read some articles and watched some video of him and he is definitely more of a feel kind of guy. I think it boils down to this. Do you feel the short game and putting is more art or is it more science. I feel it is an art form and its nice to have some of Pelz’s stats but the actual process of putting and chipping and pitching is purely art as far as I am concerned. Its good to have some technique’s in the short game, especially when it comes to distance control but again you have to have some imagination and intuition, when it comes to the short game. The variables are too many to put any kind of exact science to it. If you think about putting too much, especially about how the exact speed has to match the exact amount of break you may never make another putt. The first practice blog should be sometime this weekend

  4. brianpenn says:

    I once tried to start a round with zero swing thoughts, as Rotella recommends, but that lasted about four holes. I learned I have to have at least one to trigger my swing or I get too out of sorts. On one or two occasions when I’m totally hacking and nothing’s working, I have thought “target” as the only swing thought and experienced some success righting the ship. To Rotella’s point, some of my best putting days are when I’m thinking of only hitting a spot of grass on the edge of the hole (smallest target possible), and absolutely no mechanics, but I find that approach impossible with the full swing.

    Thanks and keep ’em coming! Brian

Leave a Reply

