The Goofy Game of Golf Searching for the Answer

Today, finally got to course number 61, Timber Ridge which is about a 65 to 70 minute drive in Mount Pleasant Pa. It was pretty windy today and very chilly to start but as the day wore on  the sun came out and it got a little warmer. I had never played this course before and it was a unique golf course. The course plays 6300 yards from the back tees was in pretty good shape for the time of year as the greens were smooth and ran about a 5 on the stimp. The greens were the most sloping and undulating greens I have ever played. They were not very big but at least 13 to 14 greens had severe slopes from front to back or from side to side. On one 9 foot putt I had as much as 3.5 to 4 feet of break from left to right. The course is hilly and many holes are tree lined but the course is not super tight. The course has one hole the 13th that is a 650 yard par 5 which is one of the longest par 5’s I have ever played. The course plays to a par of 72 and overall was  interesting and challenging, especially with those greens. I would hate to see them running even a 7 on the stimp. Playing this golf course you would learn the value of keeping the ball below the hole. Since yours truly did not know the extent of the slopes on many of these greens I did find myself in some very difficult putting positions. Despite that I managed to shoot a 5 over 77 with 5 bogeys and no birdies. There was no hot dog at the turn since the course was not very busy in the windy conditions. This will be a course I will be wanting to play again, just to see it in more golf like weather. I can not say that this course is worth the trip but still a very enjoyable course to play with lots of interesting holes. My own game is coming along quite nicely at the moment as I think this new thing I am doing may be the real deal. Or it could be that swing number 318 will be just as disappointing as swing no. 1. Sixty one down with twenty nine to go.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

