The Goofy Game of Golf Searching for the Answer

Today I played Indian Run in Avella Pa. which is about a 40 minute drive from my house. This was the course we were going to team up with Highland Springs but a thunderstorm and rain shortened our day. I joined up with a twosome and we got out at around 7:30 am. Indian Run plays about 6300 yards from the tips with the greens running a very nice 6.5 on the stimp and were in excellent condition. These were probably the smoothest greens I have putted all year. The course is somewhat like a links course but the 11 and 12 holes are tree lined.  The course overall was in very good shape with the fairways and roughs very good.  This course has had some issues with their neighbors recently and had to change the 18th hole from a downhill drivable par 4 to a slightly uphill 150 yard par 3 which took a little of the charm out of the course. The 18th was a great risk reward hole and now is just a little routine par 3. Even with that, this is a solid little golf course and definitely worth a 60 minute drive. The hot dog at the turn was delicious and the lady that served it was just as friendly as you could be. Obviously my cold/respiratory illness is better. I put myself on some antibiotics and although I am still not 100 % I am getting stronger everyday. I shot a nice solid 76 even though I missed a couple of short putts and because of a bit of luck I am back to high tech. I was at St Clair Country Club on Wednesday in an outing and won via a raffle a Taylor Made driver one of those with the white head. That is the first time in my life that I had won anything that expensive.  I just thought the fates must be telling me something so I am back to the metal 3 wood and my Nickent irons and all that certainly seemed to help at least today. Hopefully my health continues in the right direction and we can do a 36 hole day next week. Forty four down with forty six to go almost half way home.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

